It was bed time and the clock stuck 11. We switched off the lights. And that’s the time the world starts spinning for our 3.5 year old son ‘D’. Its a routine that serious (not so serious for us) starts when we go to bed after a long tiring day. We expect them to be tired as well but they behave the other way.

And to tell you more precisely the conversation would start from the word you utter and thats the trap. Yesterday the conversation started like this

Me : Gud night son.

D : Gud night Appa. But I am not sun. Sun comes in the morning and disappears at night. (Ah the kindergarden knowledge sharing)

Me : This is not that ‘Sun’ dear. It is S..O..N (I spell the word.)

D : Oh is it. Then we both are S(u)ons ah? (i didn’t know what he understood and which S(u)on he was referring to.)

Carefully I just say “Hmmm” without giving him a prompt.

D : Appa then chithi’s(aunt) son is Dhee. Am I right?

Me : No dear. Dhee is a girl and you should say ‘daughter’.

D : Why so? Why not son?

Me : In English the boy child is called Son and the girl child is called daughter.

D : (Confused) Oh is it. Ok. Then I will become doctor for Dhee.

Me : (Even more confused from where doctor came into picture) why doctor?

D : Ya i can’t be a daughter right. So I will become doctor.

Me : Ok guess you are feeling sleepy. Close your eyes now. Good night.

D : Appa you didn’t ask me what will I do when I become a doctor.

Me : ok tell me.

D : I will take care of everyone and so noone get uaah(in his language uaah means disease).

The proud dad in me smiled widely but to prevent more conversation and delaying the sleep time, I just give him Good night kisses and hug him to sleep.

Leave a comment