My Half relationship with my dreams

When did you dream first? Did it come true? Hey wait. I am not asking about the dream of receiving a chocolate from a fairy or a travel to a distance land but I am asking about the dream of achieving something. Have your achieved what you dreamt? If so, you should be lucky my friend.  

I am gonna describe the half relationships I carry even today with the dreams I couldn’t achieve through this blog.
It was during my summer holiday of class 6th or 7th and I had been to a relative’s house and thats where the seed of my first dream was sowed. During our casual conversation, they had mentioned about their friend’s kid who has took up fashion designing. I was curious to know what that course is about . It was only during that time that the course was budding in India. After doing some research and talking to the girl who has taken up the course, I decided that summer evening that I will become a fashion designer. I not only decided but I started following fashion and learnt to make sketches. But destiny had other plans.

After the failure of fashion designing career dream, I was completely shattered and felt that my world is crashing. I stopped sketching. I stopped following fashion stuffs. It was more painful than a love failure. But Sunit Tandon , Nalin kohli and Suganya Balakrishnan, the popular news readers of Doordarshan came to my rescue by visiting us in our television sets daily with their wonderful news presentations. The charm and charisma they had made me love journalism/news presentations. The winning of elocution competitions was another reason for me to love journalism as I knew that I had the capability of presenting something in a better way to the audience. The first step towards the dream was waiting for my turn or taking someone’s turn during their absence of reading news headlines during our daily school prayer assembly. When my friends were digging their heads into the brilliant tutorial books for medicine and engineering, I would proudly walk away saying I am going to be a journalist. My english teacher was so happy and proud that someone in the class is listening to him. He gave me extra attention and got me few more opportunities to compete in English elocution and debates. Though this dream lived a bit longer than the previous one , it couldn’t live forever.

I don’t regret for what I am today. I never dreamt of taking up engineering, excelling in my core subjects and leading a team today but somewhere in the corner of my heart my relationship with my dreams are unfulfilled. I didnt want to cut them off from me. I wanted to maintain an attached yet detached relationship with them. Wanna know how? I have started suggesting fashion to my wife, friends and well wishers. I design accessories for my wife. I have learnt to make beading and quilling jewellery. I do this to keep my half relationship with fashion and to fulfill my quench of becoming a news presenter or journalist, i invest my free time on blogging, working on conspiracy theories, hosting events at work and for friends.

The fire in the relationship with your dreams never dies completely. It just needs a blow from you to atleast maintain half relationship with it. 


P.S: I am sharing a Half relationship story at BlogAdda in association with #HalfGirlfriend.  You can also watch the trailer of Half Girlfriend by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

